contacts / laser eye surgery

mmaria

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been wearing contact lenses for about 16 years now. I've never wore a glasses, my vision can't be corrected with glasses. But wearing contacts this long caused eyes sensitivity, dryness etc. f.e. can't sit in front of computer for a long hour and my day job is 8 hours in front of computer :(
Through all this time different doctors did or didn't recommend me a laser surgery. One doctor says: you must go! another says: I would never recommend a laser surgery!
The thing is that I'm genuine scared of the surgery. I think that is the only ting that scares me that much, not the actual act of surgery (I've seen it a gazillion times on videos) but after the surgery. And if you ask my fear it would tell you NO surgery! But in the other hand I see changes my eyes experiencing and maybe that would be the right choice for me.
Has anyone here been trough the surgery? experiences after? opinions?

Are the gains worth the risk? This is something that you have to resolve for yourself because they are your eyes and the risks are real. Never let anyone tell you that they aren't.

I haven't had LASIK surgery on my eyes, but I have had cataract surgery on both of them. I had to have my right eye done in 2006 and my left eye early last year. Before the first a girl from the surgery center called for some reason, and one of the things she asked was "Are you frightened?" I told her she was damn right I was frightened since I had never before had any kind of surgery done. She tried to help me get over it and said something along the lines of "Don't worry, we do this all day every day and nothing ever goes wrong." I asked her if nothing ever goes wrong then why did I have to sign all those disclaimers, and she had no answer for that.