Continuing 35mm Film Availability

dinodan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As the proud owner of 2 film Nikons (and insanely considering the purchase of a third, as prices are so low), as well as a vintage 35, what are the prevailing thoughts and conventional wisdom on the continued availability of 35mm film in the coming years?

Well in the short term at least, I'm still confident that I'll be able to get Fuji and Ilford... sometimes it may be a case of waiting for a batch (as is the case with Ilford SFX 200), and most likely you'll be buying online instead of in stores... but I don't think availability will be a real problem, although you might not be able to get it as cheap as is often possible now. Having said that, obviously I'm no business expert.

35mm will be around for a long time. There are some films that i'm currently hording, such as APX100, tech pan, and foma, all of which i can still purchase locally.

You don't have to worry about black and white or slide film going away in 35mm. Standard color negative may be a different story. If i had to bet, I'd say that would be the first to go.

35mm will be around for a long time. There are some films that i'm currently hording, such as APX100, tech pan, and foma, all of which i can still purchase locally.

You don't have to worry about black and white or slide film going away in 35mm. Standard color negative may be a different story. If i had to bet, I'd say that would be the first to go.

That would be fine with me. I use slide & B+W film almost exclusively. Plenty of room in the 'fridge.

Thanks for the input.

Now, about that F100...