Contracts limiting photo use when shooting concerts.

amarine88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a pro/am photographer and am just starting to break into the music photography business. I work with a small stock photo agency that does some work with editorial material so I've been able to secure press passes for a variety of concerts. I get denied by most, but I am still able to get into enough to keep me busy and allow me to add to my portfolio while making a little side money.
I've noticed most bands like me to sign a contract before I shoot asking me to limit the use of the images to non-commercial, send them a copy to use non-commercially with attribution (which is fine considering i share my work under creative commons anyway), and follow some simple rules during the concert. These have been very small items and usually don't affect me from using the images and the band's management has been good about tailoring contracts to fit my (and my site's) needs.
The problem I have been facing is the contracts I have to sign for the venue, specifically the House of Blues. These have fairly harsh restrictions that forbid me from using the images after 1 year from the performance, limiting web use to 30 consecutive days without archiving, adding "with permission from HoB Entertainment" to image captions, etc. I find it odd that the venues are more restrictive on the use of images than the bands are.
I know you can try to negotiate with bands because they want the publicity, I don't really feel that I can refuse to sign the form because it is normally handed to me by a low level will-call emplyee who doesn't have any power over it, and unlike the band, the venue doesn't really give a rats ass about the photos being published.
Has anyone else run into similar problems and if so, have you found any ways around it? Any other advice/ info you have on the subject would be helpful.