Correct section to post?

ThaLadyPit

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Being as I'm fairly new to this stuff, I'm unsure where the appropriate place to post this question is. I've tried the search function, but my question is too specific and lacking in the correct key words to really find what I'm looking for, so I figured I'd ask here. Mods, if I've posted in the wrong section, please move as needed.

So, my question is for anybody that can really answer this. I've noticed during reading several threads that when photos are presented, they show the specs of the photo, like aperture, f-stop, range of the lens when photo was taken, etc. How in the world do y'all get that on there, especially for those of us who don't fully understand that stuff yet?

Also, I saw someone mention in another section of the forum that the majority of the members use Flickr as opposed to Photobucket. What are the advantages/disadvantages to Flickr vs Photobucket? I took a virtual tour of Flickr and didn't really see anything spectacular about it compared to Photobucket, so if I missed something, can someone please fill me in? Thank you, in advance for any advice/info that can be offered. It's greatly appreciated.

Flickr is higher quality and will save exif data that is uploaded with your photo. Do it! Open the flickr account!

Now as far as how to get the exif data that you are referring to this is made by the camera and saved for each photo, granted you are using a dslr.

What type of camera do you use?

It's called EXIF, or metadata. The vast majority of digital camera automatically record this information as part of the image file.

There is some software that, when used for an image, does not retain the information.