Could do with some helpful C&C - HDR

Sookie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, my very first post outside the welcome area.
Was wondering if anyone could give me any pointers or C&C on a couple of my HDR photos please ? They are not the most interesting pictures, but all the same :) I've no idea about photography rules - but I like taking pics - I also like to try to HDR some of them - but again I'm not really sure what I'm doing too well, I just like pottering about (kind of self taught). I use Corel Paint Shop Pro X and Photomatix Pro if this is any help. I have Adobe, but really don't like it for some reason, maybe someone can convince me if it's better to use :D - Cheers !!

2q04n02.jpg

2ikb4gz.jpg

140eosm.jpg

208k3zn.jpg

Last edited:
you seem to be off to a good start. I am assuming the first two are before tonemapping and the second set after.

The first corrected is a bit too harsh for me; however, the first is too flat and needs a bit of tweaking for contrast. Maybe some place inbetween.

Might back off just a bit on the second as well.

Are you happy? After all it is your vision .

Also, use what ever software your most comfortable with and gives you the results you seek.

I think you should back the saturation off a bit on No 1. But I agree the HDR really improves the image from the original.

The second one has too much contrast and needs to be brightened up a bit. I think you are actually loosing some of the details of the sculptures due to the dark tones. Need to back those off big time.

not a bad effort though. it's all subjective in the end.

Since your Photos are NOT OK to Edit, not much I can do for ya.
You could use words to express your opinion or give advice.