Could you recommend a camera for multiple uses (product shots, video, etc)

jcharles00

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello!
I've been wanting to get a new camera for a while, but can't seem to settle on one. FWIW, the last camera I've used was a Canon Powershot S30, which was nice as a point and shoot, but in the pseudo manual modes it didn't seem to offer enough control. I'm also not sure exactly what lenses I would want.

Regarding uses, I am a graduate student in design, and would be using the camera for several types of projects. Some would be product shots of mock ups and models in controlled lighting conditions. This could be items ranging in size from around an inch square on up to something the size of a washing machine. I'm also interested in playing with portraiture a little bit, but it's not a primary concern. I imagine it's pretty standard, but I'd like the ability to use remote lighting in addition to a hot shoe mounted flash.

I'm also interested in the ability to shoot video. Largely this would come in the form of product use observations, but secondarily, it might be nice to film a cycling race or music performance occasionally.

While most of my needs are for kind of functional, documentary photography, I'd like to have something with enough quality that I could do prints and have them look nice.

For price range, I'm thinking that I could go up to the neighborhood of $1500-ish, if there were reason to, but I'd be alot happier around $600 for a body and lens. I don't plan on becoming a pro photographer or anything, so I don't think I need a ton of lenses or anything, maybe eventually get something macro, something midrange, and something a little longer. I don't know if that's a reasonable plan.