Creative spark?

CycleDog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a technician. My photos are properly exposed and (usually) well composed. My daughter, however, takes all that and applies a more creative, artistic approach.

I'm not looking to mimic someone's work, but I'd like to expand my abilities. The question is how to do so. I've started an ideas notebook, for one thing, but are there other ways to do this?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Take a couple of basic, beginner's art classes, either online or at a community college/adult education center. Not photography, but more the composition/color theory, "learning to look" level. You'll get to play with pencils and paints, which is a good thing! ;)

A quick exercise would be to shoot a single object from several different perspectives (angles, distances, high/low, etc.) -- fire hydrants are very popular.

I usually find sticking a fork into a wall outlet creates enough spark for me.
GinSlutTest.gif

I think understanding the essential elements of your image and leaving only what is needed in for a successful image can help.

You would, Sparky. LOL You're an energizing high voltage kind of guy.

What are you doing now and what do you want to be able to do? It might help to narrow it down, there are all kinds of things you could do.

I'm a technician. My photos are properly exposed and (usually) well composed. My daughter, however, takes all that and applies a more creative, artistic approach.

I'm not looking to mimic someone's work, but I'd like to expand my abilities. The question is how to do so. I've started an ideas notebook, for one thing, but are there other ways to do this?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk