critique please

meotter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i think it's about as good as i can get it, but i'm sure there is more that can be done. no need to pull punches, i have thick skin :)

TIA
Mike
smallimg1897ps2eq.jpg

Its a great pic! but I just don't like pictures that focus on flowers alltogether.

Jake

i just read the posting guidelines a bit, and it's a little different then when i was here last, so let me fill in some missing details.

i shot this with a rebel xt at F/5, 1/500 sec, 150mm focal length, iso 200, i was in hawaii on vacation and just thought it looked nice. this is probably one of my favorite pics of all the ones i took on vacation, due to the colors. I've already cropped the original a little bit and adjusted some of the levels to give it a little more pop and remove a yellowish tinge that the image had.

OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE OTE....

i'm not very good with PS, so i'm sure there is more that can be done with it, but perhaps it's just not as good as i think it is.

I'm basically just looking to see what other people would do with this photo. would it help if i posted the original?

Hey there,

I hope you dont mind me editing your pic. This is my version (very quick edit.

A few things i did to your image:

1. I felt your image was a tad soft, wondered where exactly the focus point was on the flower. So i used an unsharp mask.

2. Th epoint of interest is the flowers. Last thing you want is any distracting highlights or objects in the background. You obviously didnt want the background since you used shallow depth of field. In addition, in photoshop i created an addjusted curve layer and basically made the background darker while leaving the flowers intact.

3. One of the nice features of the flowers is the hint of yellow. I created an addjusted contrast layer to bring out the yellow in the flower.

I'm only a beginner i'm afraid :( i hope this helps.

smallimg1897ps2eq2.jpg