D-90 Shutter count

tom beard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I got my new D-90 a few days ago, and taking time to learn it and get comfortable with all the menus. I've probably shot 100 frames but only have 25 in memory after deletions. I'm curious to find out how to access the overall shutter count. I can't find anything in the exif data or the manual, TPF or on the net. I know I'm missing something simple, but I'm really new at this.

By the way, I'm astounded at the color and quality of photos that a good dslr produces.

Thanks, Tom Beard

Well you can't just look at the total shutter count BUT you can take a picture and look at the file number and that is how many you've taken. It starts over at 10k pictures. So if the file name is like DSC_0102 that means you've taken 102 shots. Hope that helped!
tj

I use opanda Exif reader.

If you take a jpg format picture, you can look at the Exif information on Opanda and it will tell you how many shutter activations you have had.

My D90 is showing 12486 shutter activations now.

You can also upload an untouch picture to flickr and it'll tell you the shutter count. Oh, and make sure you set the numbering of the pictures to sequential so they don't start over with the numbering when you take out the card. My D40 is at about 7900 right now.

Jeffrey's Exif viewer <---I just used this one on-line. I'll check in the morning, I'm almost positive it tells you right on the camera.

Well you can't just look at the total shutter count BUT you can take a picture and look at the file number and that is how many you've taken. It starts over at 10k pictures. So if the file name is like DSC_0102 that means you've taken 102 shots. Hope that helped!
tj