D40 up to D80

D40

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I have the D40 (only a few months old) and love it but am wandering if I should jump to the D80 while I can still get a good price for my D40. The biggest things are the AF and the Megapixles. I may do Weddings and know that the D40 will not be enough. I am not a pro and will not be a major photographer anytime soon but I need something that will last me a long time and that I can use for paid work. Any advise on this? Thanks

My other option I was looking at is getting the Nikon 18-200mm AF-S lens and the SB-800 for an all around use set up??

The jump from 6 to 10 megapixels is not a big deal. You can make perfectly acceptable wedding photos with a 6MP camera.

As far as the autofocus is concerned, it depends on how much you want to be able to tap into the vast number of available D series (and equivalent) lenses and use them in the AF mode.

If you are going to do weddings, what is your second body?

As to the lens I'd suggest an f2.8 80-200mm. It's a huge hairy thing but you can use it professionally should the need arise.

mike

Well the Prime lenses are the ones I was thinking about that only have AF. I will look at that 80-200mm but if it is anything like the 70-200mm that it is $$:)

Well I can go with getting the new lens and SB-800 and then in the future I can upgrade and use the D40 as my second? Right now I feel very limited with the 18-55mm lens and want a good quallity zoom lens for when I am out and about taking photos. The 55-200mm lens is to cheap in my opinion and I wanted something better made. I really can't afford the 70-200mm lens or that would be the way to go. The Prime lenses are going to be fairly cheap and will be very fast but they have AF not AF-S. As far as the flash goes, I feel the need for an external flash (SB-800) to use the bouncing light to my advantage. Just some thoughts?