D5500

lizzard427

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to the PhotoForum.
I have a D5500, after owning and using me D40 for several years. I'm looking at buying a wide angle lens to use during the eclipse in August. We'll be visiting my family in Oregon and plan to stop by one of the towns the eclipse passes over, than down to Crater Lake later that day to do some night sky photography.

I have a few questions I wanted some help with:
1. For photos of an eclipse, would it be better to use a wide angle lens or would a telephoto or zoom lens be optimal?
2. I've been looking at the Nikon AF-S 16-35mm wide angle lens to use while at Crater Lake, as research has suggested using one with even a little zoom allows for more flexibility than a prime wide angle-my question here is would it be better to use this one for that use or would it be better to use a prime lens?
3. This is more of a side note: I was also looking at buying one of those battery packs to attach to my camera-if you use it, is it worth it to you? When I used my D40, I never had problems with the battery dying but my battery died on my 5500 when we went camping. I wasn't sure if battery packs were worth it, I don't know anyone who uses them.

Thanks in advance! :)

If you shoot during totality the scale of the Sun in a shot made with a wide angle lens will be very small.
Though the corona will be visible and very much larger than the Sun. How much larger the corona will be will depend on how long your exposure is.

If you use a wide angle lens while the eclipse is partial and you don't use a solar filter that blocks some 99% of the light, the Sun will likely be way overexposed and won't look like it's partially eclipsed.

I will be using a 400 mm lens (telescope) with a solar filter on it during the partial portion of the eclipse.
I will remove the solar filter to make 1 shot of the fully eclipsed Sun & it's corona during totality.