D750 vs D800

jamiebonline

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking for an FX camera and I would like to bypass the D600 series for other reasons. Have any of you owned one or both of the D750 or D800? The D800 used is now cheaper then the D750 used.

I am a portrait photographer with a slow shooting style. I shoot outdoors mostly and only occasionally in low light conditions. I might do studio work in the future again. Also I see myself possibly shooting an event like a wedding or a music concert. I quite like the idea of a big rugged camera. I don't crop my images very much. Sometimes. I use movie mode almost never.

Anyway, I'd be happy to know what you think. Thanks! Oh and the D800e is not available where I shop.

For portraiture, weddings and concerts the extra pixel resolution (7,360 x 4,912) the D800 has is desirable.
The D800 has a 1 stop faster max shutter speed (1/8000) and a faster flash sync speed (1/250 vs 1/200).

The D750 has a better top continuous shooting speed at full resolution at 6.5 fps.
The D750 has a very slightly better AF module, likely only ever noticeable when trying to AF in very low light without using the AF Assist light.
The D750 has better video options.

The D750 advantages don't add up to much for your intended usage.

D800 in the 3rd round. The D750 is sucker for a left hook.

I agree with KmH and Gryphon for your intended uses, tho if you could meet and use both candidates in advance that sometimes makes a difference in terms of the ergonomics, heft, etc...