D800E Timelapse Questions

gunslingor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just bought the D800E. I've read that you cannot use auto focus with timelapse or interval because the camera often takes too long to focus and skips the shot. What about aperture, ISO and shutter speed, can I set those to auto? The reason is that I kind want to take a 24 hour over 1 minute movie of the day and night skies in Denali Park and potentially off the cruise balcony I'll be on.

I've also read the built in timelapse is a little dinky, that you can get many orders of magnitude better quality if you use the interval timer, custom settings and software. All agree with this right?

What other recommendations can you guys make regarding shooting off a cruise and across day/night?

I've never messed with timelapse before and until recently I was using film cameras... but I'm a computer engineer so I can figure it out easily.

I've also read the built in timelapse is a little dinky, that you can get many orders of magnitude better quality if you use the interval timer, custom settings and software. All agree with this right?

Actually, I disagree with about all of that, but that line most of all. :) The Interval timer seems excellent.

Timelapse is for movies, and I don't even know if the Interval Timer option works in live view. Probably does, but I never even thought to try that, and have no desire to try it now. :) Live View (and movies) have much less versatile controls than the viewfinder, esp low end camera models leave out more. For example, some models cannot adjust aperture at all after movie recording starts. This varies with model, and I make no bets on live view.