Decided on which camera as first DSLR, now.. which lenses for long backpacking trips?

GertjanGoetynck

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all!

I finally decided to go for the D7100 as my first DSLR camera after outgrowing my Olympus Tough TG1 (still has it's place, but just feels limiting.)

Now the hardest part has come: which lenses should I get?

I plan to use the camera mainly on backpacking trips so I can't take too many lenses with me. How many lenses would you guys suggest? And also, which ones?

I was thinking to get the Tokina 11-16 lens for sure. My eye fell on it at first when I did some research about night photography, but I think this lens looks to be very good for landscapes aswell?

If it is, I basically need 1-2 more lenses to cover the rest of the spectrum. I myself was thinking about the Nikkor 18-200 mm but I am completely new to the DSLR world so I don't really know what I'm talking about...

So in short: How many lenses would you suggest taking on an extended backpacking trip, and which ones would it be knowing I would use them for Night photography, Landscape, some wildlife and overal documenting the trip?

Thanks alot in advance!

depends. Do you want to shoot landscapes, wildlife, people.... all of the above?? How much space do you have and how much weight do you really want to carry? Would you rather have 3 good lenses or 1 ok lens? It all depends on what you want here.

It feels like 2 lenses would be optimal, 3 at max.

When it comes to space, I'd be using a Lowepro Toploader with whichever zoom lens I buy to carry the camera outside of my backpack, and pack the other lens (or lenses if I decide to go with 3) in my backpack. (I am not planning to buy a specialized photography backpack made for hiking since they just don't seem built for serious backpacking, way too small for that. I'll just have to find a way to pack my extra lenses securely into my normal pack :) )