Deciding on a camera

Vaibe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been looking around for cameras and one I found that I like is the Nikon D40. Is this a good camera? I'm a beginner and have about 400 USD. I'd love to hear input about this camera from others and if possibly some suggestions in my price range. Thanks!

People that have them seem to love the D40.

It is a somewhat dated model though.

Yeah, I understand it's pretty old. What would you suggest to a beginner?

Be aware that your lens choices for a D40 will be limited to those with a built-in focusing motor which, from what I understand, are typically quite expensive.

Edit: That is of course if you want the autofocus to still work

I think right now I'm looking at the D3000. What do you think?

I honestly think you should look at a Pentax K-x. Great bang for your buck.

D3000 is a great choice for a starter camera on a budget. If you can swing it try to step up to the D5000 for some more features. The D90 is the lowest camera that offers an internal focus motor. But I wouldn't be too concerned about that. All the good lenses have internal motors, and they aren't that expensive.

I just bought a D3000 last night. So far its an AWESOME camera and i haven't even scraped the surface. (I'm a DSLR Newb)

Be aware that your lens choices for a D40 will be limited to those with a built-in focusing motor which, from what I understand, are typically quite expensive.

Edit: That is of course if you want the autofocus to still work

Lenses with built-in focus motors aren't all that much more expensive and using the term "quite expensive" is misleading, particularly when not backing up the statement with any empirical data.

Note - Many of the lenses that have a focus motor in them also have Nikon's VR technology adding to the price of a lens, which fokker negelects to mention.

Further, a D40 owners lens choices are not, "limited to those with a built-in focus motor."