Decoding Woodsac...

theheater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Since I have became a member of this forum, I have been extremely impressed with many of the photographers here. However, the one photographer who has stood out the most in my opinion is Woodsac. So, what better way to honour him, then decode his photos in order to see how each of them were created....

With that being said, lets here everyones opinions, how does he get the clouds to look so evil? I absolutely love it... Also, many of his photos have a real mean cartoon look, how does he achieve this?

140277274-L.jpg

How do I get these clouds??

133792986-L-1.jpg

Again with the trademark clouds, and this looks like it has the addition of a fisheye?

128858216-L.jpg

Anyhow, I am fairly new to the world of photography, and I would love members to decode these photos, and pass along the secrets and knowledge. Thanks Woodsac on the constant creations, and please keep them comming.

They are all HDRs with some photoshop post-processing. But what kind of post-proseccing I don't know, and I am also curious what specific post-processing he does.

I would like to know as well, his pics have always impressed me too. I don't want to ask the master to reveal all his secrets, but a few hints would be nice:lol:

Several exposures of the same scene, then converted to a HDR image using Photoshop, Photomatix, or something similar, then tone mapped to what you see.

The artistry comes from :

1. The original photos themselves. They have to be interesting. Also you have to have a feel for how they will come out when they are tone mapped, otherwise you will be taking pictures of things that look sucky when they are finally processed.

2. The tone mapping process itself. Believe me, this is an ART.

Several exposures of the same scene, then converted to a HDR image using Photoshop, Photomatix, or something similar, then tone mapped to what you see.

The artistry comes from :