Department Store Portrait Studio

bayoung

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I would love to turn a great hobby into a profession but I have no job experience. I'm more than willing to take classes but I'm wondering if taking a job at a Portrait Studio at a store like Sears or JCPenny's would be a good place to start as well. Would taking a job like this be career suicide or would this be a good thing to help pay for some classes to put on a resume??

Any advice from those running their own businesses, that have a few photographers working for them, would be great. I think working for a company with multiple photographers would be the next step before going out on my own.

Thanks.

I think that it would be a good experience for anyone wanting job credentials. I know the studio at the target i work at is ALWAYS busy and there is a ton going on all at the same time.

Welcome to the forum.

While I would think that something like that would be better than nothing...I haven't heard many good things about it. From what I've heard, there isn't much creativity involved...everything is set up the same way as it's always been and all you do is position them and click the shutter. If you can't get the kids to smile in the allotted time, you tell them to take a hike. I haven't been into one since everything went digital...but I've heard that now they take the shot, show it to the client and get a yes or no. If it's no, they delete the photo and take another one...no going back.

I think the most valuable thing you could learn from this, would be interacting with the clients and getting them to smile and relax. However, in this set up, there isn't much motivation. You probably get the same low salary whether they smile or not.

You might be better off just shooting friends and family to build up your portfolio. A good portfolio trumps a resume...especially when talking to potential clients.