desperately need help with 'shine'

jemmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
:heart: Hi all, Was hoping (desperately!) that you might be able to shed some light on this shine that appears on many of my closeups... has only been apparent since using my newish canon 350D. Looks like glittery-sweat but my little models do not appear sweaty when i shoot.... I have included this shot as it is a prime example of what im talking about..... Please help... i'm sure it's simple, but it's driving me CRAZY:grumpy: !!!! xx Thanks in advance xx

IMG_0570.jpg

Seems like it is too much direct flash to me...but I am still a newbie. Try the same shot, but bounce or diffuse the flash somehow.

I also think it is the impact of the on-camera flash going with the fact that baby faces usually have some sort of creme applied to it, and that is what is shining and glittering here.
You might want to try and take your portraits with natural light only, or diffuse your flash somehow ... to cut open a film roll container (not a black one, an opaque one!) and put that over your flash - it is said to diffuse the light nicely.

yep definately looks like the on-camera flash. You can take care of that in a very simple and cheap way...take a piece of paper and hold it in front of your flash when you take the photo..the paper works as a diffuser so that the light is not so harsh on skin and allows a more natural skin color.

I'm not familiar with Canon setup menus but I'll throw this out there. Other brand cameras have an adjustment in the menu to control the intensity of the flash. does your camera? Maybe?

Blot the kids skin or apply makeup.. just kidding. Natural light rather than flash again.

FEC, Flash Exposure Compensation. I think the 350D has this adjustment. Try dialing it down a few steps.