Developer ratio & type problems - help?

CTurner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a first year college student and have worked in a darkroom for a few years at my highschool, but I've never been the one to mix - or buy - the chemicals myself.

I shoot Kodak TMAX 400, use ilford RC VC satin and pearl paper - as well as ilford VC fiber paper - and have purchased Kodak powdered D-76 developer.

I mixed the powder and have 1 gallon of developer. It says to use 1:1 to develop film. So I now mix equal parts developer and water, correct?

So that developer is only for film. I've heard I can mix 1:3 for "working solution".

Is this the developer I use for paper?

I've heard there is supposed to be different developers to do film and paper. If you could link me to the best developers for this set-up, it would be great.

I'm not one to "experiment" with different darkroom / photo processing techniques and just want to find a developer / film / paper combo I can rely on and don't need to change.

Cheers,
Cole

D-76 is only intended for film. It can be used at full strength, 1+1 or even 1+3 (parts developer + parts water). When you dilute it you only use it once, when you use it full strength it can be re-used, usually by lengthening the time but you can also 'replenish' it. Don't store it diluted - dilute immediately before use (you are diluting the preservative as well as the reducing agent). Using it 1+1 is probably the most convenient, and it gives a sharp-looking neg.

There aren't many developers available nowadays that work well with both film and paper - the paper developers tend to be much too active for film. Ilford PQ Universal is a decent paper developer and a fair, but not great, film developer. Kodak Dektol is a good paper developer, and it can be used for film if you like contrasty images with heavy grain.

Best,
Helen