Developer times questions

meow7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a noob to darkroom stuff and I have started developing my medium format 6x4.5 film. I have developed 3 rolls so far and they have turned out well, I think. I am shooting Tmax 400 pro and using Xtol 1:1 mix. On the Kodak chart they have the times at 7.5 mind for 65 degrees and 6.75 mins at 68. However when I look at the chart put out by digitaltruth, they have it at 9.15 mins. Could someone explain this discrepancy, and what would the 6.75 to 9.15 difference affect. I ask because I'm shooting ilford pan50+ as my current roll and know it's pretty sensitive. I may use Rodinal for that. Do I trust the digitaltruth chart?
Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

There really is no 'one single perfect' developer/mix ratio/time/temp combination. They are all just suggested starting points.

You should try one combination and judge the results. Make any necessary changes the next time you soup your film. Then judge the results again. Once you find a combination that meets your needs and requirements, that's what you run with.

The figures on the Digital truth Chart come from a number of users and will produce results that particular contributor likes - it also takes into account that user's photographic style and exposure technique. Kodak's figures tell you how to produce a test image - it is a good starting point, particularly if you have exposed your film to Kodak's standards in the first place (ie at box ISO). As well as time and temperature, you need to take into account agitation technique and intensity.

I would stick to Kodak's and Ilford's recommendations for exposure, developer, time, temperature, agitation and anything else they tell you until you have developed several dozen films.