Developing

columbus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, I'm pretty new to film and I'm a little put off by the cost of making prints since most of my pictures suck. I really have no idea of how film is developed and I would like to save some money on processing/developing/prints (could someone please explain the difference between these terms to me?)

Anyway, from what I understand, b&w film is easier to develop. I'm a little curious as to how much money can be saved by doing developing myself. How much do you think a basic setup would cost/ what exactly do I need?

The big costs are the workspace and a scanner ($300-1500)

One Time Cost
$20 Premium Double Reel Developing Tank with two reels (2 35mm or 1 roll) $20
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=1603&pid=4733

$20 Changing Bag 27 in. x 30 in (IMO requited)
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=&pid=1507

$11 Film Retreiver (not requited nice to have)
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=1603&pid=1461

$10 Graduated Cylinder 1000ml (more that one helpful)
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=&pid=1454

$3 Graduated Cylinder 50ml (not requited nice to have for mixing liquid chemicals)
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=&pid=1456

$3 5 Liter or 1 gal Storage Bottle (1 to 4 depending on how you mix and store your chemicals)
http://www.freestylephoto.biz/sc_prod.php?cat_id=1603&pid=1560

Chemicals - Lots of option, but in general the required chemicals cost about $5-15 to make 1gal/5liters of each, the tank I list above use 650cc for 2 roll of 35mm

Developer (requited)
Stop bath (requited)
Fixers (requited)
Hypo Clearing Agents
Wetting Agents

go to ilford's website and they have a series of pdf files that will list all the chemicals, and equipment needed.