Difference between Av and Tv

groo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I am new to Photography and I just purchased a Canon t3i recently. I have been playing around with the settings a bit and I came across a situation that I did not understand, so I thought perhaps you guys could help.

I am taking a picture in a fairly dim lit room and I am comparing the setting between different camera modes:

green auto mode sets the iso at 400 shutter speed at 1/60 and aperture to 5.0 using the flash.
It try tv mode and set the shutter speed and iso manually to 1/60 and 400 using the flash, and aperture gets automatically set to 5.0, so the same as full auto mode
but when I try Av mode and set aperture to 5.0 and iso to 400 using the flash, it wants to set shutter speed to 0"6 instead of 1/60 and takes a very different picture due to the longer shutter speed.

So my question is why is Av mode setting the exposure so much differently than Tv mode? if in Tv mode with a shutter speed of 1/60 and aperture of 5.0 is correct for proper exposure why is it not correct (or perhaps I should say different) in Av mode?

I would say that Av mode looks more true to life because the lighting isn't as white from the flash as it is in Tv mode, and has a more natural yellow glow from the light in the room.

Thanks,
Keir

hmm, maybe I should have turned the page in the manual ... I see that Av mode set the shutter speed longer so the flash exposed the foreground and the longer shutter speed exposes the background.

So since in this case I was take a picture of my wife lying on the couch, the Av mode would be the appropriate mode to use correct (I'm not quite at the point of using M mode yet.) I would use Tv mode only if I am taking a picture of something with movement?

Thanks