Difficulty to Defocus with a Canon A1 Film Camera

lucylacy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

I am a newbie in the world of photography but lets sya that I have done some decent homework over these last months. I have also attended a 5 week intensive workshop for film photography – and I am planning to move forward

Currently I am in possession of CANON A1. One of the few disadvantages of this camera is that it has a very limited amount of shutter speed which only goes up to 1/1000

Now this brings me to my question

I like a defocusing effect for portraits (Portraits focused, and the surrounding enviorment as defocused). But whenever I chose F2.8, the amount of shutter speed never seems to be enough to compensate for the high aperture – let alone using F1.4

I tried to use setting F1.4 / 2.8 at TV 1/100 but the resulting image was highly over exposed. (to be completely homnest, shots were taken in a protest during broad daylight..but still its an issue..)

True, there is the exposure compensation function as well but it has its serious limits

To shell all of this in one question : what would be the best Manual settings to be set, in a normal amount of light setting (not too light, not too dark) , if I want to shoot a focused close up portrait set against a defocused enviorment surrounding the portrait ?

Thanks

Lara

You're talking about a shallow depth of field - getting the background blurred to separate your subject.

What film are you using? Perhaps you need to go to a slower film. Also, what lens are you using? You can blur the background at smaller apertures when using a longer focal length.

You say portraits, which usually implies a studio or a planned set up, but then you talk about shooting at a protest. Are you doing street photography or planned shoots?

you could at a ND filter to compensate for your limited shutter speed.

In the protest I was taking also close ups of people shouting, and wanted a shallow depth of field effect

I have a 35 mm Lens