Digital Camera, Fast, £250 MAX

josh.thomas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there!

I'm currently using a Sony DSC-S40 Cybershot - tiny little Sony, high res, optical and digi zoom - started out perfect 2 months ago.

But, I'm wanting to do shots where things are 'in motion' (ie: a few weeks ago, tried snapping my brother jumping mid-air on the trampoline) - I find the camera lags, and by the time the photo is taken, hes already landed!

What can I get for £250 MAX, that with take the photos almost instantly? I'm new to photography so Im not sure if theres a specific camera for this type of shot, SLR or something, I dont even know what that means!

Sorry to sound so stupid, Just started photography for A-level, been predicted an A, but its a matter of learning what everything does lol :blushing:

josh.thomas said:
Hey there!

I'm currently using a Sony DSC-S40 Cybershot - tiny little Sony, high res, optical and digi zoom - started out perfect 2 months ago.

But, I'm wanting to do shots where things are 'in motion' (ie: a few weeks ago, tried snapping my brother jumping mid-air on the trampoline) - I find the camera lags, and by the time the photo is taken, hes already landed!

What can I get for £250 MAX, that with take the photos almost instantly? I'm new to photography so Im not sure if theres a specific camera for this type of shot, SLR or something, I dont even know what that means!

Sorry to sound so stupid, Just started photography for A-level, been predicted an A, but its a matter of learning what everything does lol :blushing:

Hi Josh. You may want to check this FAQ thread for basic information:

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3028