Digital camera

yvonk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I'll start buy introducing myself a little bit first, well I'm doing some graphic design(http://www.myspace.com/ivaylokli) and I discovered a passion for photography recently. I'm still a beginner in this world but I wanna learn!

Okay so I'm posting out here for some help, about a digital camera that I'm going to buy soon for this summer. The thing is that I don't know which one to buy yet and I really wanna make a good choice on it since it will be my first time doing some serious landscapes pictures.

Here is a list of cameras I've tested, but I don't think any of those will be taken for various reasons.

Canon PowerShot A540
Canon PowerShot SD900
Sony CyberShot DSCN2
Olympus Stylus 770SW

My budget is around $450 USD.
My needs would be: Long battery life, compact size, IS, good quality pictures(mainly for landscapes),

As you've guessed this camera will be mainly for landscape photography, and I'm not going to buy any tripod so thats why I'm looking for an Image Stabilizater on it.

I've came up with a little list out here, and if y'all could tell me what camera would be the best for me out of those it will be awesome! Also, if you wanna add on other cameras to the list- go ahead!

Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ1
Casio Exilim EX-Z850
Sony DSC-P200
Sony DSC-T100
Samsung NV10
Canon PowerShot SD800 IS
Canon PowerShot A640
Canon PowerShot SD1000
Canon PowerShot S80

Well, I'll be waiting on some replies and thanks to y'all for the help.

Welcome to the forum.

I know it's always easy to recommend something more expensive, but I would suggest that you try to increase your budget enough to look at a Digital SLR camera. Something like the Canon Rebel XTi, Nikon D40, Pentax K100D etc.