Digital or traditional darkroom?

Graham1101

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all I am a student and recently got into 35mm photography. it was the cheaper option for me short term and I wanted to upgrade from my bridge camera pretty badly :p

Anyway the reason I'm posting this is to pose the question am I better off setting up a digital darkroom I.E a scanner photo editing software and external hard drive or would going with the traditional darkroom be better? I do hope to eventually do both and also get into Digital photography but over what time span I cannot predict :L. I just wanted some advice on which route to go as I am completely new to anything beyond setting in camera settings on my bridge camera!

Thanks in advance :)

Digital takes up less room, is less noxious, and doesn't have to have the lights out, but if I had the room (and the budget) I'd have both in a heartbeat.

If you're starting from scratch (ie, you have no gear right now, including a camera), a traditional darkroom and 35mm film gear is cheaper. Much of what you need is dirt cheap or, if you bide your time, flat-out free. At least for black & white. Color darkrooms get a lot more complicated and pricier.

Which route to take, however, should be determined by what you 1. expect of your images and 2. expect to do with your images. If all you're going to do is push shutter buttons and make pretty pictures, then either route will suffice. But if you have an ultimate goal for your images, then that goal should drive the medium you choose.

All of the above...

I'm a longtime film photographer, used a shared darkroom at a local university and gradually started accumulating equipment for a wet darkroom (a work in progress). After I got a digital camera (along with a continually growing collection of all sorts of mechanical film cameras) I started doing my own printing. A digital 'darkroom' for me is just the printer and Photoshop on the computer.