digital photo cd..do u provide them free of charge?

aliciaantoinette

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm just getting started in Portriature photography and I'm faced w/the issue of providing too much or not enough...
Some of the competition in my area provides a complementary photo cd of all images taken during a session, this is how I have proceeded to this point. Of course I offer print packages, etc as well as an online proofing album on my site. Now i am dealing w/a customer who only wants the cd to get ther own prints, susposedly a "family member" is going to order prints through me. Now I know that I can set the resolution of images on the cd to only 72 dpi therefore the client can only print small images.
Any suggestions/comments/advice?

thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

This is an issue that many photographers are trying to figure out.

It is illegal for a client to print the photos unless you give them permission...of course, many people don't know that...or they don't care. If a client wants the digital images to make their own prints...then you should charge them enough for it...to make up for lost print sales.

As you already have on-line proofing...there really is no need to give the clients a CD/DVD (unless they don't have a computer...just a DVD player).

One problem with giving clients the digital files...is that you have no control over the final output. They make take your great images and print them on toilet paper...then tell everyone they know that your photos don't look good.