Digital SLR question

monkeykoder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just getting into photography I've shot maybe 10 rolls on my Nikon FM10 and 2-3 on my Mamiya NC1000. More to the point I love these cameras (read I like manual cameras) but film and processing costs start to add up when you're a college student. I think I can convince my Dad to get me a dSLR for Christmas but the budget would be pretty low. How poorly would my money be spent if I told him to get the D40 or the D40X? Is it worth the risk to buy a D50 or D70 used? My Dad currently uses a D70 and has a couple decent lenses for it so I would like to stick with Nikon unless there is a much cheaper option that is better.

What kind of lenses does he have? Bear in mind that the D40/x can ONLY use AF-S lenses which makes it very limiting. The D70 on the other hand can use any post AI Nikkor lens.

Contents of the camera backpack:
Micro Nikkor 60mm f2.8
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 DC HSM
Nikon ED 70-300 4-5.6
(Just getting what I can from the side of the lens)
and some fisheye but that isn't here right now. (Nikon brand)
plus a SB-800 speedlight

I'm not against manual focus just not sure how long it will be before I have the money to upgrade the body, probably not sooner than 2-3 years.

What is the likelyhood I'm going to get burned buying a D50 or D70 used?

I'm not against manual focus either, but I am against manual focus on dSLRs. It will definitely not be the same as focusing on your FM10.

From that list, the Sigma is the only lens which will autofocus on a D40 or D40x. Personally I would avoid both and go for the D50 or D70... if worried about buying used, then avoid buying online and instead buy from a shop where you can check the condition of the sensor, the number of activations etc, before buying. In fact you may not even need to buy used, as I still see D50s being sold Refurbished (which is basically the same as buying new).