Dirt (I think?) in Viewfinder?

Mach2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a feeling this is probably very much a beginner's question. But I'm a beginner, so I'm gonna ask it.

I recently got my hands on a Pentax K1000, and just picked up film for it today. However, before I take any pictures with it , there's one thing I'm slightly worried about. When I look through the viewfinder, there are a lot of little black flecks. I'm assuming dirt? Not near enough to prevent me from seeing what I'm photographing, but more than enough to be distracting and mildly annoying.

I can handle distracting and annoying, so long as it isn't going to be affecting the pictures. Is the dirt only in the viewfinder, or is it somehow going to cast a shadow on the film when I take a picture? Will there be a bunch of little black specs when I get the film developed? If so, is there any way to get rid of the dirt?

Your K1000 has a solid glass pentaprism viewfinder.
The dust is likely on the focusing screen which is in the top of the mirror box.
The mirror box is in the camera right behind the lens mount. The mirror reflects light from the lens up through the focusing screen and into the pentaprism.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DSLR_camera#mediaviewer/File:SLR_cross_section.svg

The photographer can see the motive before taking an image by the mirror. When taking an image the mirror will swing up and light will go to the sensor instead.
  1. Camera lens
  2. Reflex mirror
  3. Focal-plane shutter
  4. Image sensor
  5. Matte focusing screen
  6. Condenser lens
  7. Pentaprism/pentamirror
  8. Viewfinder eyepiece
Use a hand blower or a natural bristle brush to blow/brush dust off the focusing screen.

Generally, if you can see it in the viewfinder, it will NOT show in the photos (it would have to be on the lens for this to not be true). It is most likely on the focusing screen, as KmH mentioned.