Do modern printing machines add saturation?

selmerdave

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just got back some rolls of Portra 400 NC that seem rather saturated. I generally have found that 400NC is pleasantly (realistically) unsaturated relative to the current fashion of extreme saturation a la Velvia and the digital equivalent. These were printed by my usual lab that I've been using for a few years, although their results are becoming increasingly inconsistent. I also got a roll of B&W 120 back with 4x6 prints (!). I called to complain about that and they said that's what they usually do (LOL). Not what they've done for me in the past, anyway I'll get them to redo those and that will likely be my last time there.

Anyway, my main question is whether it is common now for digital printers (the only kind) to increase the saturation.

Dave

you should tell them to make no adjustments when they print, or get scans of them instead and print them after you do the color correction yourself.

They get scanned anyway in the printing process..

I always get scans when I have my stuff developed because I like to do all of my color correction myself then print from the digital file.

Not only do digital printing systems have that annoying tendency to mess with contrast, saturation and sharpness, but there is also a choice of paper saturation and contrast. Even a 'neutral' scan of colour negative film is usually the scanning software's (or operator's) idea of what is 'neutral'. It's a different matter with reversal film, for which you can get a truly neutral scan that is usable.

If you get files from the lab that are anything other than the Raw scanner files or DGN files then they have been manipulated in some way, and you may have lost some potential for further correction. This is rather like the Raw/JPEG debate but without the Bayer dematrixing issue because scanner Raw files are already RGB.

Best,
Helen

in short,

develop only, scan yourself.