Do photography classes help at all?

les_rokr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've never taken any kind of class/seminar for photography, buy I'm on the list for next semester's photography 1 class at my high school. The community college is right down the street-where i've been taking all my music classes since I was in elementary school. College photography classes are available to me there was well.

Will these classes help?

Judging from your previous posts, yes, they will help alot. If not from just the information you're given, than from competition.

I've been photographing for 25 years, starting with a photo class in high school. I've been taking a photo class at least once a year, recently also related courses such as Photoshop or digital printing workshops.

I really enjoy most of the classes, and learn something in all of them. It keeps me thinking about photography, and gives me new projects all the time.

They most certainly do. The offer clarification, inspiration, observation, competition, motivation and lots of "Aha!" moments. I just wish I had the time, energy, and money to take them more often.

Taking a class lets me look at photography in a more detached way. It directs the focus away from my more "selfish" preoccupations.

Rusty Tripod

For any topic, including photography, one advantage of a class over a book is that there's an opportunity to ask for and get 'instant' clarification. This can save lots of slogging through texts.

...about community college and Learning Annex courses. Some are great, but not all. It totally depends on the instructor. Just in the area of digital alone there are loads of misconceptions and poor technique.

Does the instructor have a degree in photography? What professional skills do they bring to the table? You couldn't teach college English without a Masters in English, but absolutely no education is required of photography instructors. It's a gamble.