Do you show clients unedited photos first, then process them? Or process first?

KrisHunt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm about to take on one of my first paying photo jobs. One of the biggest things I'm worried about is what to charge. I'm a graphic designer, and I normally charge $X per hour, so I was planning on charging the same rate for the photo session. But I know I'll probably spend hours in post-processing, too, and I'd like to be paid for the time I spend doing that, too.

Do you generally show the client the unedited photos first, and then do your post-processing to the ones they choose? Or do you choose the ones you think are best, process them, and then show that subset to the client?

The latter sounds like the better option for various reasons—not the least of which is I don't want the client to know how much retouching was needed to make them look good—but that would mean I would be billing them to retouch photos they may not choose. Any advice?

Well there's no reason to show your clients something completely unedited, that just won't do you any good.

If you have an established edit or product, you show them that tier and nothing prior. If they do manage to have with you additional requests ontop of your product, then you're going to have to charge retouching fees or what may have you fees if you haven't already priced the cost into your original tier. Why? Because once it's out of your hands you don't want anything leaving your company to the risk of bad interpretation especially from unedited photos. Your first hand off to them whould be what's expected of you, which is why they hired you in the first place. Unless offcourse they hired you for unedited work....you got the idea, the latter is better.