Does anyone shoot an "origional" senior portrait anymore?

dpolston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to "senior" portraits and I am being asked more and more to shoot them. I have always thought myself to be pretty good at taking a portrait but every now and then, I look to see what's out there.

I just waisted an hour of my life that I'll never get back looking at cookie cutter, overprices cheesy senior shots on the web. Who out there takes interesting photos for these kids and their families?

I just want to give up the whole profession if this is the standard that we call acceptable!

There is a glimmer of light here, but this is the only one I saw.

http://www.quicksilverseniors.com/Default.aspx

I think alot of what you see on the forum is a great break form the standard that I was used to (hint I graduated in 1989). Try looking at some of the senior galleries tha thave been shown here I think you should like them.

Hey THAT site was AWESOME! Thanks for the link. Anyhow - i like the ones I see here. I graduated in 97' and let me tell you my senior pics were the cheesiest things you have ever seen and the guy that did them has a contract with the high schools in the area. The school actually tells you to go to him! And he sucks! LOL

I'm pretty sure i'm going to be doing some seniors next week, and when I know i have the clients hooked, i'm going to ask them what they do (for props). For example, if one was a football player, they'd be in their pads for example. And everything would be on location. The studio is claustrophobic, or at least it was for me when I had my portraits done, and the weather has been nice lately.

This was some of the processing that I was thinking of doing for them as well as an option:

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=97184

Yes. There are tons of them.

My favorites:
Tim Schooler (my favorite poser of women and natural light user)