Does film developer matter much?

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
If I just want to develop 35mm color negatives and do the scanning myself, does it matter where I go to get them developed in terms of quality?
I'm not an expert or a professional, just a recreational photographer, so I don't need national geographic quality images.

well, it shouldn't but it does.

most photo places use the same equipment however, the individual running the equipment can and will make a difference.

you just need to try out a few and see how they are doing. look for scatches, or rather the lack of them. water spots, etc.

since you will be scanning then you don't need to watch for color correction with the prints.

Are you asking if it matters what developer you buy to develop them yourself? Or if it makes a difference where you get them developed (at a lab)?

I'm assuming the 2nd.. as ann said, it shouldn't matter, but it does. I take my c41 to my local drug store 1hr lab. They always do a good job (developing only), but once their machine was broken, I took it to a different 1hr lab for develop only and the negatives were bad. Same film I usually use had twice as much grain and something just seemed "off" about them. Now when the machine's down at Rite-Aid, I just develop it myself at home.

I can only think of two automated way to develop film

1) Roller machines are the ones use in mini labs. They pull the film thru the machine winding it over a series of roller. Damage and poorly cleaned rolls are not good.

2) Dip & Dunk machines are used in pro labs, the film is hung and dipped in to the developer.

You can also do it yourself in a tank or trays

I can only think of two automated way to develop film

1) Roller machines are the ones use in mini labs. They pull the film thru the machine winding it over a series of roller. Damage and poorly cleaned rolls are not good.