Does going full time equal being "more legit"

photogirl2002

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am currently a part time child photographer, looking to go full time on my own. I have been working in the journalism/photo journalism field for 13 years (+) My question is, do you think someone looking for a child photographer would look more toward someone who does it as full time job versus someone who does it part time?

I don't do it part time because I make a lot of money at my first job. I do my first job because that's what my degree was in and it's where I've stayed. I would like to make photography my daytime job, but I do realize it is difficult.

I wonder, though, if clients would be more interested if I said "I'm a full time photographer" rather than "I do it on the weekends."

It's kind of like a mechanic or a doctor -- do you want to go to one who "just does it on the side?" I don't know....just a question. :(

Last edited:
IMO, if you have excellent work to show, full time or not, i dont think it makes a difference.

Dont advertise yourself as a full time or part time photographer. Advertise yourself as a photographer and book you shoot in the time you feel is good for you to shoot, even if its only on the weekend.

We are in the same boat. I can't quit my day job because i make too much money to flush that job and on the other side i cant do photography full time because i wont be able to pay my billls because i wouldnt be able to shoot 3-4 gigs a weeks right now because the demand is simply not there yet

Dont advertise yourself as a full time or part time photographer.

Agreed. Why would you even mention whether you are full or part time? You are a photographer. Period.

And if someone wants to book you on a day you are busy with your other job, just say "sorry, I'm booked on that day. How about Saturday?"

Just dont bull**** your clients. There is nothing wrong to say that you work 2 jobs.