Don't laugh...

dissembled

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My God. I'm a total newb at film photography so excuse my stupi...ignorance. Film scanners and flat bed scanners.. I know that they scan your negatives into your computer. The things is I'm not really sure what 'negatives' are. lol. I went to the wiki page and I'm given the impression that negatives is the 'exposed' film that comes out of your camera after you finish a roll of film. Is that right? No wait...they're the brown strips that show the inverse-colored image aren't they? But that's not what comes directly from your camera when you take a roll of film out is it? So...uhhh you go to a photolab w/ the film and they give you your negatives, right? My question is how do you 'create' the negatives in the first place? What materials do you need? I do know that prints are created through an enlarger using negatives. I know that much. Oh and another thing. In this amazon page, it says that this flat bed scanner accepts 120 roll of film... [ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002U40NG/sr=1-3/qid=1141026273/ref=pd_bbs_3/102-5135546-3622558?%5Fencoding=UTF8[/ame] Meaning that I could just take off the film from my Holga and just put in the thing in the scanner and voila have the photo in my computer?? Thanks in advance. Sigh.

Hello dissembled

Welcome to The Photo Forum

dissembled said:
My question is how do you 'create' the negatives in the first place? What materials do you need?

(i) a camera - your Holga should be fine

and

(ii) film - a roll of 120 should do the trick

dissembled said:
Oh and another thing. In this amazon page, it says that this flat bed scanner accepts 120 roll of film...meaning that I could just take off the film from my Holga and just put in the thing in the scanner and voila have the photo in my computer?? ?

Correct - or, more correctly, after the film has been processed at a lab

Please post back with all your question; you'll be in good company

Have fun!

:)

e_