down to three cameras

drumbum

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Side by Side Comparison at Dpreview

I've been looking at a digital camera for alittle while now, and after using a Canon 10D (and 2 days with a Canon 20D), I like what I've seen enough to purchase one.

I've been using film for a few years, and shoot nothing professional (aka photography is a hobby). Photos will be reproduced mostly on the web. I also shoot alot of street photos.

I really liked the 10D, but was wondering if it was getting alittle outdated? Would I rather have a 20D? How about the D70?

I threw the Leica in there because I liked it's specs and the picture quality seems to be great, as with any Leica.

Your thoughts?

Thanks!

Are you talking about the Leica digital rangefinder? The 20D, 10D, XT, and D70 are SLRs. Are you familiar with rangefinders? It'll be somewhat different than an SLR.

Overall, I bet image quality is about the same on all of these cameras. Decide if there is a particular feature or two that would be important to you, and see which model is best in that area.

I've read about some Canon lens issues with a 10D. You'd be covered with a 20D. Tough to go wrong with a D70, D70s or Canon 20D.

I just read a review of the new Nikon D50. It's an entry level DSLR, so it lacks some features that the other cameras have. But according to the review, the image quality and autofocus are just as good, if not better than the D70s or the Rebel XT.

both railman and mike have good points. if you want nikon, either the d50, d70, or d70s will do great. if you want canon, the 350d or 20d would be great. heck, so would the 300d and the 10d. it boils down to what specs you need (want).

If most of your shots are for the web then it seems to be overkill to buy a 20D.
I have one and it's tremendous so no doubting it's quality or value but maybe not best for you. Might be better going for a 10D or even the newer Rebel. Both will be a lot cheaper and give you the same quality on the web as the 20D.