DSLR canon graduation photos...

Nein-reis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Still new to my camera Canon 350D... I need to take pictures of my sister at her graduation... it will be an indoor ceremony typical of high school graduations. I can use a tripod sometimes and I also have a Tamron Autofocus 75-300mm f/4-5.6 LD and the stock Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens.
Since that is the same day I will be picking up the camera I'm not gonna have alot of time to practice... What would be the best settings for apeture, ISO, etc... and setup with the equipment I have for nice crisp photos in that enviroment using that camera?

I know its a noob question, but I'm a noob to DSLR, this camera, and I don't have much time on friday to get play around before I need some decent shots. Thanks, I'm here to learn...

Make sure you charge the battery...

For an indoor ceremony, forget the 4-5.6 telephoto. Too slow.

"Nice" and "crisp" are not words one would associate with the kit lens. Anyway, if using that lens, (also very slow for shooting indoors), set the ISO to 800. Choose Aperture Priority (Av) and set it wide open (lowest number). If you don't get a shutter speed of at least 50 or 60, switch to ISO 1600. If it is still too dark (hey, it might be), then you can only really shoot from the tripod.

WHEN YOU PICK UP THE CAMERA, try to get a Canon 50mm f/1.8 ($75usd). It will make your day SO much easier.

Ok I have a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II how should I set-up the camera for this event using this lense? thanks alot for your help... I appreciate it, since I'm completely oblivious to this camera.

First, go out right now and start shooting with it. Start on "P" and note how the aperture and shutter speed are related (wider aperture, faster shutter speed).

Go on google and read up on the following:
Aperture
Shutter speed
ISO
Depth of field
...and how all of those relate.