DSLR?

VintageSkies

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been toying with a kodak easyshare digital camera for a few years.. I really like it. It takes great pictures.

But I want to get a DSLR. Just one to start.. i want a great/good dslr for 350 dollars or under.

links/suggestions?

used camera stores, ebay, craigslist, those are the places to look if you want a good one for that price. If you want a NEW camera, you probably ill have to spend twice that at least

the only kind of good/great SLR you are going to find for 350 or under is a used film SLR. you would be very lucky to find a DSLR that is good/great, and also in good/great condition for that price

You can get rebel XT's refurbished for 400 with no lens. You might look into a refurbished rebel and find it for that price.

$350 budget is going to be difficult; used or new. If you do find something that fits your budget, you might be a bit dissappointed.

My opinion is to go with a higher quality, more advanced P&S camera than your Kodak (I personally didn't like any of Kodak's cameras). Unlike the DSLR market, there are much more options in the P&S realm. I know this forum and others tend to look down on P&S but there are some out there that can approach the image quality of a low end DSLR (with less features). Many professionals have shot material with nothing but a P&S as well... I bet you'll be surprised.

The idea is to focus on image quality and features. Don't get hooked into the physical size of the P&S camera as often it sacrifices quality to obtain its small size. Do your research as there are a lot of crappy P&S cameras out there as well. Look into how well they handle noise at higher ISOs. Make sure it has the DSLR features you would like to use: aperture, shutter, and manual modes for example. I like to refer to www.dpreview.com for good reviews.

My personal choice within your budget:

Canon G5 or G6 used. 80% of the digital rebel's features which include:
* BIG ONE: RAW (as well has jpeg)