Edit my car show photo

nerwin

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
nickerwin.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As part of my quest to learn better post processing skills, I'm asking you to edit a car show photo that I took. I'm at car shows a lot because I have a car that is often on display too.

I've been shooting at car shows for many years and I still haven't come up with a post processing style that works for me. I'm all over the place...sometimes I like the photo to be bright, contrasty and vibrant and others I like it to be subtle.

I'm just really curious to see how others would process one of my own car show shots to maybe help give me another perspective.

Download the RAW file here from my OneDrive: Erwin-160730-4497.NEF

This is something that I often do but for some reason I don't like it.

Erwin-160730-4497.jpg

Artist: Nicholas Erwin
Copyright: 2016
Camera: Nikon D610
Lens: 50 mm f/1.8
Exposure: Auto exposure, Aperture-priority AE, 1/2,500 sec, f/2.2, ISO 100

Artist: Nicholas Erwin
Copyright: 2016
Camera: Nikon D610
Lens: 50 mm f/1.8
Exposure: Auto exposure, Aperture-priority AE, 1/2,500 sec, f/2.2, ISO 100

I completely forgot to put that on there haha. My bad.

I would have taken the shot completely differently myself.
F/2.2 ==> you cannot even read the "Galaxie 500" near the right headlight due to a thin DOF.

I would also have not taken it at a 45 degree angle to the front, I would change the perspective, and also change the height towards the car. That's all a personal thing but it's something you should experiment with (watch how you want the hood to be portrayed, length of the car, front (angle and height).

such as this:

• ƒ/7.1
  • 18.0 mm
  • 1/1000
DSC_2799 by Steve Sklar, on Flickr

or
Cars-22 by Steve Sklar, on Flickr

Last edited:
I would have taken the shot completely differently myself.
F/2.2 ==> you cannot even read the "Galaxie 500" near the right headlight due to a thin DOF.