Editing is it's own art form ....

Leftyplayer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been out and about taking fun candid portraits/ street photography. As I'm just learning, have had mostly misses with a few relatively good hits. I've also been spending time looking at great photographer's photos. The thing that strikes me the most is how they're all processed in software afterward and, sometimes, what starts out as a nice picture with potential turns into an amazing picture with some editing on the computer.

However, I feel overwhelmed by this. I know a bit of photoshop and do have a hubby that knows the software and can help me out. But I don't want to get sucked into the learning curve of these software programs (am currently playing with Gimp and Photoscape to see if they are simpler for someone who doesn't want to get sucked into spending more time editing than shooting). Mostly, though, I don't know what editing choices to make!! When I see an awesome photo, I know it. But when I'm looking at MY photos, I don't really know what kinds of editing choices would bring them to the next level ... that's it's own art form.

Anyway, not sure what I'm asking. I'm mostly moaning and groaning LOL. But I'm also trying to sort out the software with the simplest learning curve that can help me start making easy baby steps toward photo editing. I know how to crop, resize, sharpen, change contrast, and make simple color / saturation changes (even know a tiny bit about layers) - so I don't mean so much technical changes in a photograph ... I mean more artistic kinds of choices and changes. What's the learning process here? I'm used to just "fixing" photos that aren't working (too dark, too bright, need cropping, etc) ... I'm not used to "enhancing" a perfectly technically fine picture.

Hope I've made sense and, mostly, hope someone even knows what I'm trying to say :confused:.

Last edited: