Engagement Photo

danny

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm still struggling with lighting. This is with 2 Vivitar 283's with umbrella's, left & right, and one Sunpack at the camera directed up onto a medium size silver reflector. Left flash was one stop below right. Any advice/comments would be appreciated. Thanks for looking.

47498856.jpg

I think you've got a good start here. I'm still learning lighting myself, but it almost seems like the light is too even. You might try getting a higher light ratio by turning down the flash even more. In most cases you want a main light and a fill light, this helps create some darker areas that make the picture have greater depth. For me, the eyes make the portrait and her's look great! His seem a little dark and could use some more light there to help them pop.

Lighting aside for a moment, they both look very comfortable and relaxed and that credit goes to you and the photographer :thumbsup:

Here's a portrait using the same setup as above. I forgot to edit the double catch lights in the photo above. As always, my photo's are OTE. Thanks again.

47384021.jpg

It seems extraordinarily flat to me. I would light almost directly from the side and a bit above, just enough forward to get light into both eyes. I'd also only use one front-light, or if you must use two, crank the fill waaaaaaaaaaaay down to almost nothing.

With a bigger guy like in the first photo, I wouldn't have him facing perfectly to the side--it emphasizes his thickness, and his fiancee seems to disappear into him. You did a good job of getting him looking down a little bit to avoid glass-glare (cripes is it a pain in the arse to re-build an eye in photoshop!), but his frames almost cut through his eye--a very fine line to tread.

In the 2nd photo, she's a very cute subject, but here she's slouched down and facing directly at the camera...makes it look like a mug-shot.