Enlarger Opinion

KevinR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey All,
I was wondering about an enlarger I am watching on ebay. I have looked in the search and didn't see anything. First off, this is an alternative if I don't get the one I want(omega). Its a Bogan 22A. It looks in good condition, and if anybody has any experiance with one, I'd appreciate any thoughts. I'm trying to go to the not so popular name enlargers to save a little money. Most of my experiance is with a 23CII.

Yep, I worked a lot on that very same Beseler when I took a darkroom class, and it's a great enlarger. At home I have a well-used Chromega D-5, which I am still learning my way around on, and I love it so far.

I've never worked on a Bogan, but I think we have a member here who has one. They have a good reputation from what I've read. Will the model you're looking at handle all formats you're using? You don't want to find yourself limited later. Is there any kind of return policy? And is it a reputable seller? Two biggies when it comes to ebay. ;)

Someone else with more specific knowledge may chime in here soon. Good luck! :thumbup:

Yeah, it will handle all formats. Looks like someone masked a 2 1/4 neg carrier for 35mm. But not that big a deal. The enlarger doesn't use a lens board. It has a screw in mount. If anybody knows, will this be a problem?