EOS350 vs E500 vs D50 - First DSLR

pyropenguin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a second year photography student, a sophmore in highschool. I'm looking to upgrade my camera from a KodakDX6490 to some kind of DSLR.

The top three cameras I've seen are the Rebel XT, the E500, and the D50. I read lots on dpreview about those three cameras and still cant make my decision!

I like the bigger picture the E500 and the RebelXT take, but the D50 is $100 cheaper than the E500, and $200 cheaper than the RebelXT. The noise levels on the D50 and 350D are about the same, but the E500 has noticably more noise than the other two (in their tests).

Well, if anybody has these cameras, please give me some good and bad points of them.

Thanks,
Kyle H

pyropenguin said:
I'm a second year photography student, a sophmore in highschool. I'm looking to upgrade my camera from a KodakDX6490 to some kind of DSLR.

The top three cameras I've seen are the Rebel XT, the E500, and the D50. I read lots on dpreview about those three cameras and still cant make my decision!

I like the bigger picture the E500 and the RebelXT take, but the D50 is $100 cheaper than the E500, and $200 cheaper than the RebelXT. The noise levels on the D50 and 350D are about the same, but the E500 has noticably more noise than the other two (in their tests).

Well, if anybody has these cameras, please give me some good and bad points of them.

Thanks,
Kyle H

the E500 may be more expensive, but you get two lenses instead of one, bigger screen than both the others, more MPs than the D50, and better controls (as says Popular Photography in the Budget DSLR shootout). only thing is, there aren't that wide a range of lenses yet, but the 4/3 mount will take off soon! here's an article of the advantages of the mount: http://www.steves-digicams.com/pr/ol...242002_pr.html . peronsally i love my E500!

but g'luck :thumbup::thumbup: