EV - Exposure values

marossity

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Needless to say, I am just getting started in this hobby,and trying to understand a few things.
I am having trouble attempting to understand the value of "EV" or "exposure value".
Not in how it is calculated. That is pretty straight forward. But what is the value of this number? How is it used when taking a picture? The aperture and the shutter speed are set, either automatically or manually. These determine the EV.
O.K. so I have now determined the EV. So what? What good does this do for me, the photographer? :confused:

The EV is a number that represents whether your shot will be over or underexposed. It's determined by the camera first metering the scene with whatever metering mode you have selected (metering is essentially "measuring the light"). If your camera is set to manual, it will tell you on a little line that looks like -2_ _-1_ _0_ _1_ _ 2 whether your current camera settings will properly expose the scene. Having the pin on 0 is what the light meter sees as the "optimal exposure", you may want to over or under expose a scene depending on the situation however.

Thanks o hey tyler -
My problem, (probably my brain) is this. I have my camera set up for manual adjustments. I set the aperature and shutter speed. From this I can calculate the exposure value. There is no indicator on my film camera that reflects the exposure value.
So I am sorry to say, I just don't see how I am suppose to use this value when I am out taking photos.

What film camera are you using?

Exposure value - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia