Ever feel like you're at your limit, and it's way too low?

DSLR noob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I feel like I've just plain stopped improving. One thing that bothers me is that I've been into photgraphy for such a short time (7 months). People say to get better, shoot lots of photos, I must shoot at least 30 photos a day and I feel like I jumped leaps and bounds from my start, but have reached the edge of improvement for me..... it's really weird. I got SOOOOOOOOO much better than I was when I opened the box to my XT, but the first 4 months was where I did ALL my improving. The photos from the past 3 months all look about the same in terms of pleasurable overall look. Sure I can take low noise shots, in focus, with good saturation and contrast. My friends all say I am an amazing photographer but I am the only kid in my highschool with a DSLR and part of 10% that knows manual settings of any camera. I get told I'm great by people with nothing but snapshots, I know if I post here I only get responses such as "getting there" or "alright" but I've never gotten the "Wow, that is amazing" feeling I get from some photos by people on here. I don't get them from my own photos, or from others looking at my photos. Closest thing I got was on one car pic, where someone who does automotive photography said "I live for photos that turn out like these" yet I still see car pics better than mine all over this site.(by the way, continue to tell me that I'm not that great if you feel that way, I don't want to be lied to as a pity case because of this thread, it isn't a "Feel sorry for me and give me some false ego strokes" thread, I simply want improvement, and possibly an optimistic statement , but only if you feel what you say is true)