Exposure differences

Chevylover54

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well I'm new to photography but I really love. My sister and I are doing collages. Where we take pictures of small sections of some thing and then but them together into one big picture. I know that I could just take one picture and have it blown up but this is more fun. My question is that when I take different sections I get different "shades". The last one we did was of a girl in a wedding dress. When I would take pictures where it was half the wedding dress and half the background, the dress is bright white. When I take a picture where the only thing in the shot is part of the dress, the dress isn't as bright. I realize that the camera is evening out the brightness. What do I have to do to get it so the brightness of the dress is always the same?

Hello Chevy

...welcome to both this Forum and the wonderful world of photography

If your camera has manual settings the following method will work:

* Take an average reading of the scene to be included in your collage -- or, alternatively, of that area in the scene which is most important (being the wedding dress in your example)

* Set your camera

* Start shooting

You might find your results are better on overcast days when the light is more even

Have fun!

:)

e_

Chevylover54 said:
When I take a picture where the only thing in the shot is part of the dress, the dress isn't as bright.

The meter measures middle gray only. When metering from something all white overexpose 1.5 to 2 stops. When metering from something all black underexpose 1.5 to 2 stops.

e_

Thanks for the reply but I guess I'm still confused. Take a look at this pic at this site. http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/chevylover54/detail?.dir=/6665&.dnm=d076.jpg