Extras needed for new camera?

FataOrgana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello :) I was here earlier trying to decide on which camera to buy to get myself started in the world of photography. I have since decided that I am buying a Nikon D7100. I'm excited! I'll also be taking a couple of photography and photoshop classes in September. My question now is, aside from the actual camera, what all extras do I need or want for this camera? Which lenses, flash, etc? Any and all recommendations are appreciated. :)

My budget is about $2,000 total, but it is not a *huge* deal if I end up going over some if it's something important. I haven't bought the camera yet, so if there are some really great bundle deals that anyone knows of I'm open to those suggestions as well. I'm a beginner and I'm interested in mostly portraits, pictures of family and kids, maybe some landscapes once in a while, not real worried about video or anything.

Thank you!

Since you're still learning and getting ready for classes I'd say get a nice tripod and a moderate zoom lens, say 18mm to 140mm. Those items will give you what you need for the classes and carry you until you decide where you want to go with photography. You may go tiny and need macro lenses, real estate and need 10mm, wildlife and need 600mm or whatever.
And spend some of the money on a few good books and perhaps a subscription to PS/LR and you're ready for class.

..so if there are some really great bundle deals that anyone knows of ..
If you buy your camera new, it will probably come bundled with at least one lens, and a pretty good one at that. While a second lens might be a good addition, you probably should not expect one.

Additionally, new Nikons usually are packaged with one battery, a charger, and an upload cable. Also a CD with the user's manual on it and some editing software.