FD lenses on a Canon 5D Mark III?

manualsetting

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

I am new to digital photography. Yesterday, I bought a Canon 5D Mark III, an EF 50mm 1.8 lens, and a EF 75-300mm lens...cheap lenses. I was wondering if there's a way to use FD lenses on the 5D. I've accumulated quite a number of FD lenses over the many years of doing film photography. I read in one photog forum that there was no way to fit an FD lens on a 5D Mark III. Is this true?

Thank you.

It can be done, but it's not cheap. Ed Mika makes mount adapters for them, but unless you've got a desirable FD lens it's not worth the money. I have his mount adapter for my 600 f/4 and 300 f/2.8. The only other FD lenses I can see being worth the expense would be the TE-E 35mm, the 50 1.2, 85 1.2, and the other supertelephoto lenses. Even then you may have a difficult time as the focusing screen in the 5DIII isn't replaceable. For manually focusing you'd really want a precision matte screen, rather than the stock screen that comes with the camera. You could always install Magic Lantern, and then use the focus peaking option via the rear LCD with a loupe.

It can be done with an adapter.

The FD-mount pre-dates Canon's camera body and lens redesign made to allow auto focus using the EOS design and EF-mount launched in 1987,
EOS eliminated all mechanical connections between an EOS camera so the camera/lens interface only have electrical connections.
So no more aperture motor or auto focus motor in the camera. The aperture motor and auto focus motor were put in the lens.
(EOS = Electro-Optical System)

Another difference between FD cameras and EF cameras is the flange focal distance (FFD).
FD has a FFD of 42 mm while EF has a FFD of 44 mm.
So a FD lens to EOS cameras adapter has to have a glass element in it to maintain infinity focus.
That glass element needs to be high quality which affects the cost (Cha! Ching!) of a well made FD to EOS adapter.