feed back on NIkon 18-200 VR Len

Devananda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
is this worth the money? I read a few reviews and it seam 2 be one of the best lens out there.

I am new to photography and getting a Nikon d80 and was thinking about the flowing lens:
1X nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 G Ed AF
1X nikon 70-300MM F/4-5.6 G AF
I know theses are just the "G" lens but read some good reviews about them they seam like a nice beaner set up.

or should I just get one good lens and save time from upgrading a year or so down the road??

I might be a able to afford the 18-200 VR if i streach the money a bit.
what you you experienced folks think? would serve me best?
I will be doing a wide range of photography from landscape wildlife to people and any thing else that might catch my eye.
thanks
Devananda

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]

this is from a owner of the lense....i think it is totally worth buying...but do be aware that this len is for all purpose use...so the quality is not comparable to lens with more narrow focal range (or prime lense).....but it is very convenient because you almos tnever need to change your lense....also the VR works really great......i would recommend

P.S.....i never compare the quality of this lense to the kit lense...as i never purchase the kit lense...i bought only the camera body..not a kit package.....but all my photog friends (3) say that the quality of this lense is better than the kit

o....and with this lense....it will last you a long time until you find what is your most favourite range...then you can decide to upgrade to a f/2.8 super lense in that specific range

The 70-200 VR is also a G lens. Even though I own one, I've never used it with a 35mm camera so it's hard for me to give you much in terms of specific performance parameters. The digital crops out the parts of the frame where lenses perform poorly so most of them look pretty good except those designed for digital.